Fullerton in Position to Win Three Championships on Sunday

Photo by Matt Brown
Photo by Matt Brown

LONG BEACH, Calif. – Cal State Fullerton is in position to win three titles heading into the final day of the Fall Beach Tournament after a strong showing on Saturday out at the Rhoades Tennis Center.

The Titans in position to take home two singles championships on, as Luxzi Meng continued her undefeated run through Flight B, taking down Grand Canyon's Emila Occhipinti 7-6(5), 6-2 in the quarterfinals, before squeaking out a dramatic comeback 3-6, 6-4, 6-3 win over Washington State's Aneta Miksovska in the semifinals.

Genevieve Zeidan also moved to 3-0 in tournament play, as she took down Long Beach State's Georgia Gulin in straight sets, 6-2, 6-1 in the quarters before defeating teammate Jadie Acidera 6-2, 6-0 in the semifinals to qualify for Sunday's Flight C final.

Acidera defeated GCU's Mya Etienne 7-5(5), 6-0 to reach the semifinals.

Karla Portalatin also notched two wins in consolation play.

Portalatin continued to make noise in doubles play as well, as she teamed up with Sarah Nuno to take down WSU's Michalkvova/Ates  6-2 to reach the final.

Play will resume tomorrow at 9 am PT.

FLIGHT A (Main Draw)
Tiffany Mylonas (WSU) def. Sarah Nuno (CSUF), 6-3, 6-4

Karla Portalatin (CSUF) def. Karla Dulay (UCR), 6-1, 6-3
Karla Portalatin (CSUF) def. Jessica DeLucas (LMU), 6-1, 6-0

FLIGHT B (Main Draw)
Luxizi Meng (CSUF) def. Emilia Occhipinti (GCU), 7-6(5), 6-2
Luxizi Meng (CSUF) def. Aneta Miksovska (WSU), 3-6, 6-4, 6-3

Lalita Devarakonda (LBSU) def. Masako Makiba (CSUF), 6-2, 6-2

FLIGHT C (Main Draw)
Genevieve Zeidan (CSUF) def. Georgia Gulin (LBSU), 6-2, 6-1
Melisa Ates (WSU) def. Caisey Lee Emery (CSUF), 6-4, 6-7(3), 6-2
Jadie Acidera (CSUF) def. Mya Etienne (GCU), 7-5(5), 6-0
Genevieve Zeidan (CSUF) def. Jadie Acidera (CSUF), 6-2, 6-0

FLIGHT D (Main Draw)
Gillian Parker (UCI) def. Tiani Jadulang (CSUF), 6-3, 3-6, 6-1
Lisa Nosenko (CSUN) def. Taylor Valenzuela (CSUF), 6-2, 6-0

FLIGHT A (Main Draw)
Munoz/Pacholski (LBSU) def. Makiba/Zeidan (CSUF), 6-4
Nuno/Portalatin (CSUF) def. Michalkvova/Ates (WSU), 6-2

Devarakonda/Sadeghvaziri (LBSU) def. Valenzuela/Jadulang (CSUF), 6-2


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|