Smith Named to 2019 Lisa Leslie Award Watch List

Smith Named to 2019 Lisa Leslie Award Watch List

Springfield, Mass. – After being named to the Big West All-Conference Preseason Team earlier this week, senior Daeja Smith has been named to the Lisa Leslie Award Watch List.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award. Named after the three-time All-American and 1994 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its second year recognizes the top centers in women's NCAA Division I college basketball.

"Before Lisa Leslie became one of the most recognizable faces of the WNBA, she was a collegiate center taking the women's game to new heights," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "She is one of the most accomplished and respected centers to ever play the game and her insights and participation as we evaluate the Naismith Starting 5 with be invaluable."

The Selection Committee for the Lisa Leslie Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Leslie and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner of the 2019 Lisa Leslie Center Award will be revealed on an ESPN platform during the 2019 Women's Final Four in Tampa, Florida. Additional awards being presented and recognized at the WBCA Convention include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award. Also being awarded is the Wade Trophy, the sport's oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA's community of coaches to the best player in college women's basketball.

Last season, A'ja Wilson of South Carolina was named the inaugural winner of the Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award.

For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Lisa Leslie Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #LeslieAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2019 Lisa Leslie Award Candidates

Kalani Brown


Kristine Anigwe


Channon Fluker

Cal State Northridge

Daeja Smith


Jade Williams


Megan Gustafson


Alex Wittinger


Macee Williams


Sam Fuehring


Hallie Thome


Teaira McCowan

Mississippi St

Kate Cain


Jaisa Nunn

New Mexico

Janelle Bailey

North Carolina

Brianna Turner

Notre Dame

Ae'Rianna Harris


Jordan Moore


Jatarie White


Katie Powell


Mariella Fasoula


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2018-19 season*


Fans can purchase tickets for various Cal State Fullerton athletic events by visiting The Athletic Ticket Office can also be contacted by phone at 657-278-2783 or by email at The Ticket Office is located at the Titan House off of Gymnasium Drive at the eastern end of the Intramural Fields and is open from 10 am – 4 pm PT, Monday – Friday.


Fans can keep up with the latest in Titan Athletics by following us on Facebook (Facebook/FullertonTitans), Twitter (@FullertonTitans), and Instagram (FullertonTitans). In addition, the softball team has established its own Twitter (@FullertonWBB) and Instagram accounts (@FullertonWBB).


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|