Two Former Titans Up For Berths on NCAA 25th Anniversary Softball Team

Two Former Titans Up For Berths on NCAA 25th Anniversary Softball Team

April 5, 2006

FULLERTON, CA - Former Cal State Fullerton softball standouts Connie Clark and Chenita Rogers are listed among 36 players up for berths on the NCAA's 25th Anniversary softball team.

Fans can vote via the NCAA's website at with the team of 10 players and one coach announced in early May.

The 25th anniversary of NCAA Women's Championships will be celebrated throughout the 2005-06 championship season. Division I women's softball began in 1981 and will be celebrating its 25th anniversary at the 2006 championship.

Both Clark and Rogers were instrumental in helping the Titans to the 1986 National Championship and were two of four Fullerton players named to the All-College World Series team that season.

Clark was 20-2 in 1986 and led the nation with a 0.18 ERA in her first season at the Division I level after transferring from Central Arizona Community College. At the College World Series, Clark was a perfect 3-0 without allowing a run in 23 innings and surrendered only five hits while striking out 21 batters without a walk.

She would go on to earn All-America honors as a senior in 1987, posting a 33-5 overall record, 0.47 ERA, and 261 strikeouts en route to becoming the Titans' third Broderick Award winner.

Rogers was a two-time All-American for the Titans in 1986 and 1987, who hit .365 for her career (which ranks third all-time in school history). A two-time All-College World Series selection, Rogers led all players with a .438 average in five games at the 1986 College World Series with seven hits and a pair of RBI.

The next season, Rogers would again stand atop the leaderboard at the College World Series with a .467 average as the Titans finished third nationally behind UCLA and Texas A&M.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|