Automobile Club of Southern California Returns as Sponsor of Folino Invitational


2013 Folino Invitational Tournament Information Adobe PDF icon

FULLERTON, Calif. -- For the third consecutive year, The Automobile Club of Southern California will serve as the presenting sponsor of Cal State Fullerton's annual Folino Invitational to be held on Feb. 16-19 at the Industry Hills Golf Club in Industry Hills, Calif.

The Auto Club was honored with the Titan Award in 2010 for service to the university. The Club and its affiliated insurance company, which is one of the state's largest auto insurers, have been major supporters of the Mihaylo College of Business and its Center for Insurance Studies since 1999. The tournament is named for philanthropist Paul Folino, the primary benefactor behind the return of intercollegiate golf to Cal State Fullerton in 2009-10 after a hiatus of more than two decades.

Nine men's and 12 women's teams will travel to Industry Hills for the third-annual event, which will consist of 54 holes over three days in conjunction with a fund-raising amateur event for corporate sponsors and invited guests that will be held on Saturday (Feb. 16) while the collegians are playing their practice rounds. The tournament then begins in earnest on Sunday (Feb. 17) with the first 18 holes. Play continues with 18 holes on Monday (Feb. 18) and concludes with the final round on Tuesday (Feb. 19).

For the second consecutive season, the men will play from the championship tees on the Par 72 Eisenhower ("Ike") course that measures 7,211 yards while the women will simultaneously play the same format from the blue and white tees (6,088 to 6,552 yards) on the Par 71 Babe Didrikson Zaharias ("Babe") Course.

Both the men's and women's teams from Cal State Fullerton and Sacramento State will compete. The balance of the men's teams include CSU Bakersfield, Cal State Northridge, Long Beach State, Loyola Marymount, Oakland University, UC Irvine, and Utah State. Rounding out the women's field are Boise State, Cal Poly, Gonzaga, Hawaii, New Mexico State, Portland State, Stetson University, UC Riverside, Montana and Wyoming.

Long Beach State on the men's side and Gonzaga on the women's side are defending champions. Cal State Fullerton's men's team finished third at the 2012 event, three shots off the lead, while the Titan women were second, 13 shots back of the Bulldogs. Individual champions were Pepperdine's Parker Page (72-71-72--215) and LMU's Tyler Torano (70-74-71--215) on the men's side and Montana's Tara Green (74-68-78--220) for the women.

The event will be the second of the spring season for both the men's and women's teams. Fullerton's men's team opened its spring season with an eighth-place finish at the Arizona Intercollegiate on Jan. 27-29 in Tucson, Ariz., while the women will kick-off the spring on Feb. 11-12 at The Gold Rush hosted by Long Beach State.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|