Bobby Brown on Bob Cousy List

Bobby Brown on Bob Cousy List

Oct. 23, 2006

Springfield, Massachusetts - Cal State Fullerton senior Bobby Brown is one of 36 candidates for the 2007 Bob Cousy Award, which recognizes the top collegiate male point guard in each of the three NCAA Divisions.

The award is presented by The Hartford and awarded by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts. Candidates distinguish themselves on and off the court. They are evaluated on their ability to maximize their team's collective potential, their leadership and their core basketball skills -- passing, dribbling and creating team offense and overall team achievement.

Brown was an All-Big West Conference first-team selection last year when he averaged 17.5 points and 4.6 assists. He has led the Titans to consecutive winning seasons for the first time in more than 20 years. The 6-foot-2 product of Westchester High School in Los Angeles declared himself eligible for the 2006 National Basketball Association draft but withdrew to return for his senior season.

The field will be reduced to 15 finalists on Jan. 31. A Blue Ribbon Selection Committee will review the group of finalists and the winner will be selected on March 19 and announced on Apr. 2 at the Final Four.

Bob Cousy is considered the prototype of point guards. He was a freshman on the Holy Cross team that won the NCAA Championship in 1947 and was a pioneer in the NBA. He led the Boston Celtics to six NBA titles and played in 13 consecutive All-Star Games. He was named one of the Top 50 Players in NBA history.

Previous Bob Cousy Award winners are Jameer Nelson of St. Josh in 2004, Raymond Felton fro North Carolina in 2005 and Dee Brown of Illinois in 2006.

The other 2007 Div. I candidates are Aaron Brooks of Oregon, Darren Collison of UCLA, Javaris Crittenton of Georgia Tech, Justin Dentmon of Washington, Carl Elliott of George Washington, Sundiata Gaines of Georgia, Jamon Gordon of Virginia Tech, Taurean Green of Florida, Vernon Hamilton of Clemson, Dominic James of Marquette;

Jared Jordan of Marist, Tre' Kelley of South Carolina, Tywon Lawson of North Caroina, Acie Law of Texas A&M, Tack Minor of LSU, Mike Nardi of Villanova, Drew Neitzel of Michigan State, Greg Paulus of Duke, A. J. Price of Connecticut, Ronald Ramon of Pittsburgh, Derek Raivio of Gonzaga, Tyrese Rice of Boston College, Carlos Rivera of Hofstra, Quantez Robertson of Auburn, Russell Robinson of Kansas;

Daniel Ruffin of Bradley, Ramon Sessions of Nevada, Mustafa Shakur of Arizona, Sean Singletary of Virginia, Ronald Steele of Alabama, Armondo Surratt of San Francisco, Kammron Taylor of Wisconsin, Ayinde Ubaka of California, Jonathan Wallace of Georgetown and Jamar Wilson of Albany.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|