Roemer Earns NCBWA District Player of the Year

June 9, 2006

Columbus, Ohio - Sophomore pitcher Wes Roemer was named the National Collegiate Baseball Writer's Association (NCBWA) District IX Player of the Year. A two-time All-American selection, Roemer started the 2006 season in spectacular fashion, throwing 65.2 innings without giving up a walk. The Titans, who are 46-13 overall and advanced to host an NCAA Super Regional, have been led by Roemer, who is 12-1 with a 2.02 earned run average. He has struck out 125 batters in 133.2 innings overall, with only six walks.

Last week, Collegiate Baseball named Roemer Co-National Player of the Year, sharing the honor with James Madison's Kellen Kulbacki. It was the Titans' second Collegiate Baseball National Player of the Year (Mark Kotsay in 1995), and sixth overall.

Roemer has also been named one of five finalists for the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy, an award given to the nation's top collegiate baseball player. The NCBWA will announce the winner from the College World Series, June 16 at 10 a.m. CDT. The Titan right hander joins Rice right-handed pitcher Eddie Degerman, James Madison outfielder Kellen Kulbacki, Washington righthander Tim Lincecum, and Houston pitcher/designated hitter Brad Lincoln on the list of finalists.

District IX consists of all Division I scools located in California, Oregon, Washington, Hawai'i, Arizona, Alaska.

Roemer will face Missouri's Max Schurzer tonight at 7 p.m. in the opening game of the 2006 Super Regional at Goodwin Field.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|