Roemer Becomes First Titan Taken in the Draft

June 7, 2007

Lake Buena Vista, FL - Cal State Fullerton junior Wes Roemer was selected by the Arizona Diamondbacks as the draft's 50th overall pick in the compensation round following the first round of Thursday's 2007 Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

Roemer becomes the first 2007 Titan to be selected in this year's draft and the highest taken since left-hander Ricky Romero was taken sixth overall by Toronto in 2005. He joins former Titan and current major leaguer Aaron Rowand as the only Titans taken as a sandwich pick between the first and second rounds.

The right-hander has compiled a career 30-11 record in three seasons as a Titan and has posted an amazing strikeout-to-walk ratio with 352 strikeouts to just 44 walks. He currently sits 13 strikeouts behind Adam Johnson's Cal State Fullerton's career strikeout record of 365.

The Glendora-native is set to start Saturday night's opening game of the 2007 Super Regional held at Fullerton's Goodwin Field against UCLA in the best-of-three series to advance to the College World Series.

More draft coverage to come as it becomes available.

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Fri Feb 24
6:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UNLV
-2
Sat Feb 25
2:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UNLV
-2
Sun Feb 26
1:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UNLV
-2
Fri Mar 03
4:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Houston
-2
Sat Mar 04
4:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Houston
-2
Sun Mar 05
11:00 AM
Cal State Fullerton
at Houston
-2
Tue Mar 07
5:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Arizona St.
No
-2
Wed Mar 08
5:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Arizona St.
No
-2
Fri Mar 10
7:00 PM
Gonzaga
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Mar 11
6:00 PM
Gonzaga
at Cal State Fullerton
Previous Next