POSTGAME QUOTES: Utah 9, Gonzaga 7

May 31, 2009

FULLERTON, CA -

GONZAGA
Head Coach Mark Malcoff
"It was a great year for our team. [Utah] played well. Our guys battled back. Maybe we didn't play our best, but hats off to Utah for the win."

On seniors...
"A group that pushed us over the top, with their toughness. This program is indebted to this group."

On the future...

"We lose a ton of production & leadership. We have some good young players in our program."

"Our facilities and getting to regionals attracts the best kids and this will help our recruiting"

Our goal is to be a perennial regional team, go to supers, and then to Omaha."

Catcher Tyson Van Winkle
[Utah Starting Pitcher Bryn Card] was throwing a lot of strikes, keeping us off balance."

"We had a lot of opportunities that we didn't take advantage of."

2nd Baseman Evan Wells:
"We had a good year, but most disappointing for our seniors, as it's our last college game."

On his four years:
"We always had the potential, but we never had the combination of good pitching and good hitting."

"We had that good balance this year."

"It's disappointing to work on something so long, but not get it."

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Sun Apr 23
1:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Cal Poly
-2
Fri Apr 28
7:00 PM
UC Irvine
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Apr 29
7:00 PM
UC Irvine
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sun Apr 30
1:00 PM
UC Irvine
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri May 05
9:35 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Hawai'i
-2
Sat May 06
9:35 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Hawai'i
-2
Sun May 07
4:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Hawai'i
-2
Tue May 09
6:00 PM
UCLA
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri May 12
6:00 PM
UC Santa Barbara
at Cal State Fullerton
TV: ESPNU
-2
Sat May 13
7:00 PM
UC Santa Barbara
at Cal State Fullerton
TV: FOX Sports Prime Ticket
Previous Next