Komatsu Makes Big League Debut

April 6, 2012

Fullerton, Calif. - Former Cal State Fullerton outfielder Erik Komatsu got a pinch-hit single in his first career major league at bat with the St. Louis Cardinals this afternoon and became the Titans' 52nd player to play in a big league game.

Komatsu was taken by the Cardinals in the most recent Rule 5 Draft and they kept him on their 25-man Opening Day roster. He did not play in the opener in Miami, but got called on to pinch hit for Carlos Beltran in the ninth against his former organization, the Milwaukee Brewers. Komatsu legged out an infield single on a grounder up the middle, beating out Rickie Weeks' throw in Miller Park.

Komatsu, a Camarillo, Calif. Native, played one All-American season for the Titans in 2008 and was the Titans' triple crown winner leading the team with a .355 batting average, nine home runs and 54 RBI and was one of just two Titans on the All-Big West Conference First Team at season's end.

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Sat Jan 28
2:00 PM
Alumni Game
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Feb 17
7:00 PM
Stanford
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Feb 18
6:00 PM
Stanford
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sun Feb 19
1:00 PM
Stanford
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Tue Feb 21
6:00 PM
NC Dinos
at Cal State Fullerton
Exhibition
-2
Wed Feb 22
5:00 PM
San Diego State
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Feb 24
6:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UNLV
-2
Sat Feb 25
2:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UNLV
-2
Sun Feb 26
1:05 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at UNLV
-2
Fri Mar 03
4:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Houston
Previous Next