Pestano Named to the Clemens Award Watch List

Pestano Named to the Clemens Award Watch List

Jan. 20, 2006

Fullerton, Calif. - The Greater Houston Baseball Association announced this morning that Titan closer Vinnie Pestano has been named to the 2006 Roger Clemens Award Watch List. Pestano joins 39 other pitchers vying for the award honoring the nation's top collegiate pitcher.

The side-slinging righty from Anaheim Hills, Calif. amassed 13 saves last year for Fullerton, the third-best save total in any Titan season. Pestano appeared in 34 games in 2005 fanning 49 opposing hitters in 50.1 innings. The 2005 Big West Conference Honorable Mention and 2006 Louisville Slugger/Collegiate Baseball third-team Pre-Season All-American will anchor the Titan bullpen as a junior in 2006.

The third Clemens Award will be presented to the nation's top college pitcher at the conclusion of a gala dinner in Houston in July. All Division I head baseball coaches will take part in the voting for the honor, in addition to a selected panel of national media and all past winners of the Rotary Smith Award, which was retired after the 2003 dinner by the committee that is sponsoring the Clemens Award.

ATHLETICS TICKETS

For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|

Schedule Click For Full Schedule

Total Slides 2 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 5

-2
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Houston
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sat Feb 24
4:00 PM
Houston
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Sun Feb 25
12:00 PM
Houston
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Tue Feb 27
6:00 PM
UCLA
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Mar 02
4:30 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Tulane
-2
Sat Mar 03
2:00 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Tulane
-2
Sun Mar 04
11:00 AM
Cal State Fullerton
at Tulane
-2
Tue Mar 06
5:00 PM
NC Dinos
at Cal State Fullerton
-2
Fri Mar 09
5:35 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Oregon State
-2
Sat Mar 10
1:35 PM
Cal State Fullerton
at Oregon State
Previous Next