Lorenzen Selected as Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist

Lorenzen Selected as Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist
DALLAS – Cal State Fullerton junior Michael Lorenzen was one of 40 NCAA Division I baseball student-athletes selected by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association as a semifinalist for the 2013 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations.  The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

This is the 27th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 6.  The 2013 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the third year.  The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2013 CWS.


The candidates hail from 17 different conferences and 31 different schools. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with 10 semifinalists, followed by the Atlantic Coast Conference with six, Pac-12 five and the Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Colonial Athletic Association, Southern with two. Lorenzen is the only representative from the Big West.


Lorenzen has also been named to the Golden Spikes Midseason watch, and is one of 10 finalists for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award watch list. In addition, the native of Anaheim, Calif., has been named to the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Midseason watch list.


Cal State Fullerton's starting center fielder and closer,
Lorenzen is 16-for-18 in save attempts this season, but in both blown save opportunites, he kept the Titans within reach to record the win.


In two years on the mound, Lorenzen has totaled 32 saves, a number that ties Scott Wright's (1981-84) mark of 32 for third all-time at Fullerton. In 18 appearances this season, Lorenzen has tossed 18 and 1/3 innings, striking out 13 and managing a 1.96 ERA while holding opposing batters to a .197 clip.


At the plate, Lorenzen is batting .328 with 37 runs scored (7th Big West), 61 hits (T-9th Big West), 10 doubles, three triples, a team-leading seven home runs (T-3rd Big West) and a team-best 43 RBIs (3rd Big West). Lorenzen has also totaled 16 multiple-hit games and nine multiple-RBI games. His 13-game hitting streak from March 15-April 2 was the longest for any Titan this season, as Fullerton finished 12-1 during that stretch while Lorenzen batted .469 with 19 RBIs, three doubles, three home runs and 13 runs scored.


The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.  Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.


 The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.


NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.





Pos. Name, School

Mark Appel, SP, Stanford

Aaron Attaway, SS, Western Carolina

Nick Backlund, DH, Mercer

Michael Bass, 2B, UNC Wilmington

Tyler Beede, SP, Vanderbilt

Aaron Berg, RP, UCLA

Alex Bregman, SS, LSU

Kris Bryant, 3B, San Diego

Danny Collins, OF, Troy

L.B. Dantzler, 1B, South Carolina

Brandon Dixon, 3B, Arizona

Hunter Dozier, SS, Stephen F. Austin

Kent Emmanuel, SP, North Carolina

Zane Evans, C, Georgia Tech

Brent Graham, SS, Campbell

Jonathan Gray, SP, Oklahoma

C.K. Irby, Utility, Samford

Mason Katz, 1B, LSU

Ryan Kellogg, SP, Arizona State

Tony Kemp, 2B, Vanderbilt

Michael Lorenzen, Utility, Cal State Fullerton

L.J. Mazzilli, 2B, Connecticut

Kyle McGowin, SP, Savannah State

Brian Miller, RP, Vanderbilt

Colin Moran, 3B, North Carolina

Aaron Nola, SP, LSU

Matt Oberste, DH, Oklahoma

Daniel Palka, OF, Georgia Tech

Justin Parr, OF, Illinois

D.J. Peterson, 1B, New Mexico

Hunter Renfro, OF, Mississippi State

Tanner Rust, C, New Mexico State

Jimmie Sherfy, RP, Oregon

Kyle Schwarber, C, Indiana

Cody Stubbs, 1B, North Carolina

Stewart Turner, C, Ole Miss

Trea Turner, SS, NC State

Tyler Webb, RP, South Carolina

Jimmy Yezzo, 1B, Delaware

Ty Young, 3B, Louisville


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|