Lorenzen Named to Mid-Season Watch List

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Cal State Fullerton closer Michael Lorenzen was one of 51 collegiate relief pitchers chosen to the National College Baseball Writers Association Mid-Season Stopper of the Year Watch List, it was announced on Tuesday.

Entering the week, Lorenzen's 12 saves top the Big West and are tied for third in the country behind Austin Peay's Tyler Rogers (14) and Oregon's Jimmie Sherfy (13).
In 14 appearances this season, Lorenzen has tossed 14 and 1/3 innings, striking out 12 and managing a 2.51 ERA while holding opposing batters to a .196 clip.
In addition, in both of his blown saves this season, Lorenzen has kept the Titans within reach to earn the win in both games.
On April 12, Lorenzen was denied his 13th save of the year, but picked up the win in a 4-3 victory over UC Santa Barbara. The blown save ended his streak of 16 straight that dated back to May 1, 2012. Lorenzen's 28 career saves rank fourth all-time at Fullerton.

At the plate, Lorenzen leads Cal State Fullerton or is tied for the lead in several offensive categories; batting average (.338), hits (51), doubles (8), triples (3), home runs (7), RBIs (39), slugging percentage (.570), and game-winning RBIs (7). His 13-game hitting streak from March 15-April 2 was the longest for any Titan this season, as Fullerton went 12-1 during that stretch while Lorenzen batted .469 with 19 RBIs, three doubles, three home runs and 13 runs scored.

Lorenzen is one of three closers from the Big West Conference on the list, joining Trevor Frank (UC Riverside) and Reed Reilly (Cal Poly).
On April 15, Lorenzen was also named to the College Baseball Foundation Pitcher of the Year Watch List.
At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.
The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2013 College World Series.
Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010.
Texas' Corey Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Knebel is on the 2013 watch list.
The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District

Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|