Lynch, Aviles Pace Home Team at Titan Invitational

2012 Tijerra Lynch
2012 Tijerra Lynch

Titan Invitational - Men's 8K
Titan Invitational - Women's 5K

FULLERTON, Calif. -- Sophomore Tijerra Lynch 37th overall for the women while freshman Cristian Aviles finished in 40th place for the men on Friday evening, pacing Cal State Fullerton's efforts at its own Titan Invitational on campus.

On the women's side, the Titans finished ninth overall with 221 points while San Diego State took home team honors with 1-6-10-13-22 finish for 52 points, beating second-place UCLA (70). The Aztecs' Marianne Hogan won the meet with a time of 17:35.3 over the 5K course.

Lynch, whose best 5K time this season was 19:06.0 last weekend in Santa Clara, bettered that mark by five seconds with a 19:01.3 on Friday, earning 23 points.

Sophomore Celinda Manzo finished 60th as the next Titan across the line in a season-best time of 19:38.0 and was followed by junior Emily McVay (87th - 20:45.9), junior Taylor Reyes (90th - 20:50.8), and freshman Tristanie Bjazevich (95th - 21:05.1).

Mesa Community College won the men's competition with 47 points (4-6-9-12-16), just edging out UCLA (50 points) and Vanguard University (56) as only five schools entered enough runners for a team score. Braden Forest, running unattached, won individual honors in a time of 24:06.7 over the 8K course while the Bruins' Nick Hartle was the first collegian across the line in a time of 24:48.2.

Aviles completed the course in a shade over 26 minutes (26:05.0) while junior Kyle Lintz was 66th with a time of 27:12.4. Three Titans ran unattached: senior Brian Aleman finished 54th with a time of 26:27.5, sophomore Chris Martinez was 71st with a time of 27:21.9, and freshman TJ Moffit was 87th with a time of 28:13.8.

Cal State Fullerton now sets its sights on the 2012 Big West Conference Championships on Saturday (Oct. 27) at the UC Riverside Ag/Ops Course. The women's 6K event will begin at 8:45 a.m. with the men's 8K beginning at 9:30 a.m.

For more information, please visit the Big West Conference's championship page by clicking here. Cal Poly and UC Davis are the defending champions on the men's and women's sides, respectively.


For questions or to purchase your ticket(s):

BUY TICKETS ONLINE |(657) 278-2783|